Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Saw drift

Saw drift

I have a brand new Veritas Carcass crosscut saw and it seems to want to drift about 1/6"+ in 5 inches. I'm no expert at sawing and probably need some practice but, it's a new saw, I'm gripping as light as I can. The wood is 2" x 5" maple butcher block I'm cutting for my tail vise. I start by cutting across the edge with the edge up in the vise and then start dropping my hand and attempt to follow the line on the face. I expected better. Maybe I should start with the wood flat in the vise and just start on the far edge, I don't know what's right. I would like better results.

Try some cuts on scrap first keeping the cuts close together so you can see if the saw is actually drifting. Once you are sure it is the saw follow Lee Valley’s instructions about stoning a saw. Not unusual for a freshly sharpened saw to drift. I think have have 5 or 6 Veritas saws and only one had a little drift easily corrected with a very light pass on a stone.
    Jim

Blog Entries
    That kind of drift is not okay or to be expected from a new saw. It could be that the set is unequal (more on one side of the saw relative to the other), but frankly that seems unlikely to me. My experience with LV back saws is there well-made and well set up off the shelf.

Particularly in thick stock like this, technique really matters. Your approach is correct; starting a crosscut on the 2"dimension and then dropping your hand to follow the layout line along the 5" dimension. Candidly for thick stock like this, a larger, full-size or panel saw would be more appropriate, however that doesn't mean you shouldn't be able to do it with your carcass saw.