Thread: Baltic Birch and other Russian imports

Blog Entries

Baltic Birch and other Russian imports

*** This thread is not to discuss politics.

With bans on Russian imports, I’m wondering about things we buy as woodworkers and I suddenly literally gasped when I realized much of the Baltic Birch plywood is made in Russia. I used to buy it by the lift, and once my new shop is set up I had planned to make it a big part of my product line. In fact, I was going to justify the cost of a CNC by making plywood furniture as a quick seller to fill gaps between fine furniture making.

Of course, if birch ply is banned, also birch hardwood will be going up in price, and I’m assuming Russia has evergreen Timbers like cedar and pine as well- although I’m no expert.

What other woodworking related products come out of Russia? I’m still feeling the impact of the Chinese steel tariff.

A lot of Baltic Birch comes from Finland.

Maybe some from Latvia, Estonia, and Lithuania? They ARE the 'Baltic republics', but never I've never seen their plywood exports enumerated.

Latvia , Estonia, and Lithuania. They used to be called “submerged countries” ….could be too wet to grow stuff !!

Quote Originally Posted by Malcolm Schweizer View Post

What other woodworking related products come out of Russia?
    I got curious, so spent at least 6-7 minutes with giggle:
    First thing to pop up is Russia’s export ban and/or tariff on green logs. Not certain if it’s one or both…? Regardless, it seems they want to keep the unprocessed logs at home. Supplies to Chinese processors were projected to take the big hit on this.

Next up was a significant surge in woodworking equipment imports. So presumably they want the value-add of processing and jobs to stay at home too. (Maybe contribution to why Felder, SCM, etc leadtimes are absurd.). Not a word about tool exports.