Thread: Anyone upgrade a 12" Northfield HD Jointer to a Byrd Shelix Cutterhead?

Anyone upgrade a 12" Northfield HD Jointer to a Byrd Shelix Cutterhead?

I posted while back about buying a direct drive 12" Northfield jointer and how people moved such a jointer into their shops. We even got into what to look for in a VFD to run the machine. The help was very much appreciated. Now I'm thinking about upgrading the cutter head to a Byrd SHELIX. They are expensive but I have never heard anyone regret the decision to change them out. I have never done this before and Byrd says they don't have instructions for this jointer because they have never had one in the shop so they could install a head and write instructions. Does anyone have experience with this? How difficult is it? I assume that my direct drive is probably more difficult than a belt drive would be. I have had some preliminary communication with Northfield and Byrd. Northfield told me to not put back the same kind of bearings that are on the machine now. They said the bearing tolerances have gotten sloppy and they have gone to a double row sealed rear bearing to tighten up the tolerances enough to keep chatter out of the cut. I generally don't mind disassembling things and putting them back together. However, in this case, if I screw it up, it's a lot of money and there is no one to help me fix it, lol. And this certainly isn't the kind of thing I do on a regular basis. Any thoughts or suggestions would be helpful.

It’s not a upgrade.
    Not for hand fed machine.
    I suggest getting a planer with a bryd head.
    Next time you talk with Jeff ask him what the hook angle of the head in your jointer is. Once you know that you can have a better idea what sharpness angle for the knives.
    Good Luck
    Aj

I've never done it on Northfield but I have an old New Berlin 12" that I converted to a bird shella's head with the bearings.