Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Laguna 18/36 - yay or nay for beginner?

Laguna 18/36 - yay or nay for beginner?

Looking to add a lathe to my shop. I'm an experienced woodworker with no experience turning so first lathe and I'd be learning on it.

I've shopped around and all the lower priced machines fall short in one spec or another and I'd like to only buy once. I'm almost settled on the laguna 18/36 but I'm concerned this may be too much machine to learn on. Can I still do small cabinet knobs, etc on a big guy like this? Any challenges I would face and is there anything else to consider?

Thanks in advance guys,
    Job
    "The reward of a thing well done is having done it." - Ralph Waldo Emerson

I upgraded to the 18/36 a few years ago and it's a great lathe. I does as big as I need to turn and there is no problem doing small pieces as well . I've turned things like a wine goblet that can sit on a dime...

Thanks for the feedback...I almost want to get a 12/16 to start on (maybe its the intimidation factor) but I'm afraid I'd outgrow it too quickly.

If you've done your homework and decided that's what you want, get it. You can do small work on a large lathe but not the other way around. Two other lathes in the same range you might consider (probably already have) are the Grizzly G0766 and Jet 1840.

If you join a local turning club you can probably try out a few different machines as well as find a mentor (hands-on instruction is best).

That grizzly is a monster but I'm thinking the laguna would offer better build quality... almost the same sentiment on the jet, which is priced a little higher. I actually almost considered the g0838.

And unfortunately, I've not found any type of turning club or similar locally. Going to have to depend on online resources (can't wait to start that research...). Not even sure if I'll try out traditional gouges or Carbide tools first yet. Lots to learn.