Thread: considering a powermatic drum sander

considering a powermatic drum sander

I'm new to this site, but have spent some time reading through a number of threads about sanders. There seems to be plenty of knowledge and experience here and it's nice of people to share it. I'm looking for a sanding machine, probably a ~24" drum sander, but I have no experience using them. I see that the consensus is that wide belt machines are better all the way around, but due to the size of these machines and cost, was hoping a good double drum might suit our needs. I work for a residential construction company with a small cabinet shop and we don't really have a lot of space to spare. I've been looking at a lightly used 25" powermatic, DDS-225 I think. We do a variety of work in the shop but often find ourselves doing a fare bit of sanding with RO's. I'm looking for a better way. Some hand sanding seems inevitable, but having a machine that could clean up planer marks on the flat surfaces would be a big help. We often sand piles of trim boards, usually pine, before painting. I was thinking drum sander might be good for this job, as well as for cabinet doors and drawer pieces. For painted work we typically sand to 120 then prime and hand sand from there. Is it realistic to think a drum sander will leave surfaces smooth enough to paint or will it create its own set of marks that need to be cleaned up afterward? Will the abrasives plug up fast with pine if you take light passes? Some drum sanders have amp meters and a variable speed feed, the powermatic does not, problem? Anything in particular to watch out for when buying these machines second hand?