Thread: Used shop fox w1706 opinion needed

Used shop fox w1706 opinion needed

Good morning, 1st time post.

I've been eyeing a 14" band saw for a few months. Searched the forum for this particular one and it has great feedback. I'm new to woodworking and curious if others thought this was a good deal or just a fair deal or totally overpriced? Pictures shown.

"Shop Fox W 1706 bandsaw with 6 inch riser and shop fox mobile base. $850. Extra blades have never been used. Bandsaw itself only used 3 times."
    Attached Images Attached Images

Location? Seems about double the value to me. Nothing special about that model. Everyone still makes one just like that since 1934. Maybe if it had good blade guides. How many extra blades and what quality?&nbsp; Are those blades too short?<br>
    Bill D

Quote Originally Posted by Bill Dufour View Post
    Location? Seems about double the value to me. Nothing special about that model. Everyone still makes one just like that since 1934. Maybe if it had good blade guides. How many extra blades and what quality?&nbsp; Are those blades too short?<br>
    Bill D
    3 extra blades of various widths

With inflation and pandemic gouging, i have not been able to find anything for a 14" band saw around $400 for months, unless it was in rough shape- in my area or anything within 100 miles. I'm in Charleston SC. I think we may need to readjust what we once thought was a good deal on used power tools? Or just continue to wait...