Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bearing replacement and clean up of electric motors

Bearing replacement and clean up of electric motors

So I am rebuilding a 1990’s era machine that has 4 electric motors. I want to break down the motors, clean them and install new bearings. The motors are 3 phase so not much to them. The machine did get rained on tor several hours transporting it back to my shop. So it has a lot of rust. This is my first time reworking an electric motor. I have rebuilt many machines but never did the motors myself. I am fully competent wrt bearing replacement. My question to you guys is, what else should I look for or do to the motors while I have them apart? They all run fine so the windings seem ok. That is something I know would be best done by an electric motor shop. Assuming the windings are good, what else do you guys suggest I do while replacing the bearings?

Clean out dust and debris from the windings. Blow it out with air (I have washed before but recommend simple air blow out). Look for any loose 'bindings' and get some cord and rebind. Look for any damaged insulation that could arc to ground. I also give the end windings a fresh coat of motor winding lacquer.

If it has a start cap, there may be a cutout switch that runs on centrifugal momentum (single phase do, I do not know about 3 phase). Clean inspect and relube.

And sometimes I put a new capacitor, for good measure.

Many youtube videos on it - look there for some tips.

Unless windings degrade should run for many many more years with new bearings

Carl - there are no capacitors, it’s 3 phase.

I’d take it apart and make sure it’s completely dry. Clean out all the old sawdust and crud that builds up around the windings (air compressor and/or old toothbrush). Replace the bearings, check the wiring isn’t cracking or anything, and that’s about it really. Not much to 3 phase motors as you said.