Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Really old Firmer Chisels -- What is this steel?

Really old Firmer Chisels -- What is this steel?

I was curious, what steel was used before O1 became prevalent?

I've got a really old firmer chisel that I love, marked Sheffield. Recently, I bought a few more on ebay.

All of these I'm guessing were pre 1900's or very early 1900's. Granted, I'm no expert on dating tools.

The thing that stands out to me, besides the superb balance and form factor, is the steel. This stuff is awesome.
    It takes a keener edge, and sharpens way easier than modern steels, yet the edges don't seem to degrade noticeably faster (granted, I haven't tried sharping them at really low angles for paring and comparing edge retention). The edges have never rolled in use. So I can't say they're noticeably softer. But man, even when using a diamond stone, I can flatten the backs of these things so much easier than modern steels.

What would you guess these are made from? Just simple, high carbon steel akin to 1095 or something?

I’m guessing crucible steel or cast steel ,think they are the same. Lot of those are 1830 s.

Quote Originally Posted by Mel Fulks View Post
    I’m guessing crucible steel or cast steel ,think they are the same. Lot of those are 1830 s.

Ah yes, some say "Cast Steel" on them.
    Is this different from modern simple carbon steels like 1095, etc.?

Yeah ,different. But I’ve forgotten how. Lots of old threads here about old and new steels. One thing I like about the old ones is that slick
    waxy feel . Butcher was one of the best known brands

I do remember it had to be made in small batches.

My kid the certified welder and certified welding inspector will be home for a few weeks starting this weekend. I will show the child some of my vintage stuff stamped "sheffield" and ask what it is. I am not enamored of edge retention of vintage steel that I own in KD hickory, but they can take a real nice edge in a big hurry.