Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dowel plate - DFM, Lee Valley or Lie Nielsen??

Dowel plate - DFM, Lee Valley or Lie Nielsen??

I realize the LN is out of stock, but I am curious if there are strong opinions on the three options?

Left click my name for homepage link.

I have the DFM plate. I’ve used it several times in the last 2 months and it works well. I wouldn’t say I have a strong opinion about it. It is a simple plate and it works.

Get the DFM one. I made one that had the same holes as the LN one and while it worked, you really had to pound hard because of the size difference between holes. I got sick of it and rather than go through making a new one, I got the DFM one. Absolute night and day difference having way more holes closer in size. You can shave off a little wood quickly with less effort as opposed to slowly taking off massive amounts of wood pounding away like John Henry.

(EDIT) I have no experience with anything like the LV one. But it seems very inconvenient to switch from hole to hole if you have to make a bunch of pegs (who makes just one?). From their promo video it looks like you have to prep the wood with a block plane just larger than the hole and do it in one shot. That sounds rather inconvenient. With the DFM (or LN for that matter), I just split a piece of wood and narrow one end less than my desired diameter all with a chisel very quickly and then just work my way down the holes. This also guarantees zero grain runout.
    Last edited by chris carter; 12-21-2021 at 8:46 AM.

I also have the DFM plate. It works better than the plates I made prior. If I had a permanent fixture for making pegs, I'd get the LV one, but since I rarely do, the DFM of LN plate is way more convenient (it stores better and is easy to use over a dog hole). I just rive the stock most of the time, if I need a nice smooth dowel then I'll plane it octagonal. Comes out cleaner that way, but that's true with all of them.
    ~mike

happy in my mud hut

Blog Entries