Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 48

Thread: Anyone using a Onefinity CNC?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    WNY
    Posts
    7,894

    Anyone using a Onefinity CNC?

    I'm contemplating buying my first CNC, a Onefinity. I'm an absolute noob to CNC but can see the benefit to many of the things I make. I'm a hobbiest but want a reasonable large format because I make cabinets and furniture, so I'm specifically looking at the Journeyman.

    I mostly need 2 or 2.5D but once I have a machine I'm sure I'll play around with carving, too. I don't need production capability. I'm hoping I can upgrade to a higher level of SketchUp that exports DXF files and use those to feed some low cost or included software to generate the G code for the CNC.

    If anyone here has a Onefinity I'd appreciate hearing your review, do's, don'ts, must haves, etc. Thanks.

    John

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Lebanon, TN
    Posts
    1,440
    Just got my OneFinity Journeyman delivered a few weeks ago. Haven't taken it out of the box yet. other than to check that my whole order arrived.

    I have the lumber to built a table and that is my plan for next week.

    I decided to go straight to a Spindle rather than use the suggested Makita Router. I opted for a water cooled 220v unit as I have plenty of access to 220v around my garage.

    There is a very active Facebook page that is very helpful for questions, seeing what people are building, etc.


    I know there's a couple of other Creekers who just got their 1F CNC's
    Last edited by Keith Outten; 12-03-2021 at 12:38 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    WNY
    Posts
    7,894
    Thanks very much for that link Chris. I'm going to look into that group. Good luck putting your unit together. I hope you'll post some pictures and maybe a review after you get your unit up and running.

    John

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    Cambridge Vermont
    Posts
    1,754
    I got my 1F around mid July. I haven't had as much time as I would like but have made a few things. The software you choose is everything. You will want to invest time learning it. As for the the machine itself, I don't think you can find a better CNC router for the money. You will want to add a few accessories. The touch probe is worth it as well as a game controller joypad. I also opted for a spindle over a router mainly because I wanted to use bits with a larger shank than 1/4". I got the 10" monitor they sell but have already bought a larger one. The 10" monitor has a magnetic base and can easily be bumped and fall. Most of what accessories they sell you can make yourself or find elsewhere for a reasonable price.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    WNY
    Posts
    7,894
    Thanks Alex. I would get the touchpad and game controller joypad, too. With the monitor, what's the connection to the machine, USB or something special? And I'm sure I'll get a spindle for it at some point. I'll probably by the mount when I purchase the machine but start learning with my Makita knockoff router and then buy a spindle when I know a little more.

    What software are you using?

    John

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Lebanon, TN
    Posts
    1,440
    The monitor is USB (I believe), mine's still in a box. Many people complain about the monitor mount and many others go with a larger touchscreen.

    I signed up for the vCarve Pro at the time of purchasing the CNC, I believe you get a discount in doing that. You get a link that allows you to download and register it. All was pretty straight forward.

    Lot's of great YT video tutorials for vCarve. Mark Lindsey is my current go to.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    SE PA - Central Bucks County
    Posts
    59,320
    John, if you can afford the spindle up front, do that. Much better than a screaming router motor, more speed control and better collet options. It's kinda like a gun with and without the PPS system
    --

    The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Lebanon, TN
    Posts
    1,440
    Onefinity sells a breakout box that allows the 1F Controller to control the spindle speed through the gcode.

    I think itís around $30 and only uses 2 or 3 wires.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Millstone, NJ
    Posts
    574
    I got a shipping notification last night the final piece was shipped and will be delivered thursday. Im taking off Friday.

    I got x50 journeyman with the mounting frame, Wall mount, 80mm spindle holder, probe, controller, breakout, dust boot vcarve pro

    I bought the huanyang 220 2.2kw spindle. I decided to put together a closed loop cooling system. People I was told after a 4 hr carve it only went up degrees or so.
    I also 3d printed a bunch of wire routing stuff.

    Im excited
    Last edited by George Yetka; 12-02-2021 at 2:33 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Warsaw, Missouri
    Posts
    86
    I've had my OF woodworker since March, and love it. I use Vectric Pro with it. I've got probably 400 hours on the Makita router and have had no complaints as yet with it - but, I also have the OF in a sound deadening enclosure. I may one day get a spindle but really haven't seen a need as yet even though I've done large scale wooden parts and 8-10 hour carves with it. Mine is the "original" as the larger journeyman wasn't even on the horizon when I made my purchase. It is built like a tank, and I think you'll find when viewing their forums that the OF community is very pleased with customer support as well.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    WNY
    Posts
    7,894
    Thanks for all the great input everyone. I'm getting pretty excited to start exploring the new things I can do with a CNC.

    More input always welcome. Anyone here anywhere near Niagara Falls? Long shot, but worth asking. I'd love to see one up and running.

    John

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Millstone, NJ
    Posts
    574
    Quote Originally Posted by John Nordyke View Post
    I've had my OF woodworker since March, and love it. I use Vectric Pro with it. I've got probably 400 hours on the Makita router and have had no complaints as yet with it - but, I also have the OF in a sound deadening enclosure. I may one day get a spindle but really haven't seen a need as yet even though I've done large scale wooden parts and 8-10 hour carves with it. Mine is the "original" as the larger journeyman wasn't even on the horizon when I made my purchase. It is built like a tank, and I think you'll find when viewing their forums that the OF community is very pleased with customer support as well.

    If you are ever looking for bigger they offer the journeyman upgrade

  13. #13
    I would tell you that the spindle is hands down the best upgrade to CNC. Also you talked about upgrading SketchUp to export DXF, you don't need it. You can import SKP files directly to Desktop or Aspire. It is great to draw something in SketchUp then import directly to Desktop and cut it out.
    A man can never have enough tools. Now where did I put that hammer?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    WNY
    Posts
    7,894
    Quote Originally Posted by Kenneth Thomas View Post
    I would tell you that the spindle is hands down the best upgrade to CNC. Also you talked about upgrading SketchUp to export DXF, you don't need it. You can import SKP files directly to Desktop or Aspire. It is great to draw something in SketchUp then import directly to Desktop and cut it out.
    Oh, I didn't know that; shows you how green I am about all of this. OK, Aspire is out of the question, but I could manage VCarve Pro if there's no other option. I know I'll want to make parts larger than 24 x 24" which seems to be the limit on Desktop. Hmm, are there other options that can use SKP files?

    Thanks very much.

    John

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    SE PA - Central Bucks County
    Posts
    59,320
    VCarve Pro has the same import capability as Aspire with the exception of being limited to a single non-Vectric 3D model in a design. I rarely import anything 2D outside of some vector graphics a client provides for personalization of his charcuterie boards...which I then modify/tweak in the Vectric software so they will cut as required.
    --

    The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •