Thread: shopping for a scroll saw

shopping for a scroll saw

i am in the market for getting a scroll saw,,,,my granddaughter is wanting one and i feel like it would be the safest tool to start with but my only concern is the best user friendly scroll saw,,i have looked at all of themm on amazon and its not really the price im looking at but the easiest one to change blades on and the noise level and the vibration,,,and needless to say they have cheap ones and the more expensive ones,,,but i figure its not so much about the price but the quality,,and i have no experience with one,,,and i do woodworking but needless to say a scroll saw i have never had no experience with one

Jeff, I have an Excalibur 21" but they went out of business with General International a few years ago. However, it looks like King Industrial bought the patent. The newest versions appear to be the same design but with some improvements such as dust collection.

What I like about it, the sawing mechanism tilts and the table remains horizontal which to me makes it easier to move the material being sawn.

Check around for pricing as Woodcraft has the 16" King at a lower price than Amazon when I checked just now.
    Ken

So much to learn, so little time.....

I've been very happy with my Dewalt. If only for your granddaughter, you could even look at something like a Dremel scroll saw. Even something with pin style blades which are very easy to change, but more limited blade choices. All my plans for our grandson change every 6 months as his interests change. I'd keep an eye on Facebook Marketplace and buy someone else's beginner machine when they upgrade.

My Wen $121 variable speed scroll saw was just delivered & I just looked at it in the box.

It has a very small table compared to other better (an not as good for that matter) saws.