Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Acceptable Bandsaw blade front to back movement?

Acceptable Bandsaw blade front to back movement?

Hello I am new to the forum and I am also new to Bandsaws. Without all the long boring details I will do my best to keep this short
    I purchased a Grizzly G0640X 17" Wood / Metal saw in June it arrived laying down instead of standing up which is a bad thing. The replacement saw arrived last week and looks like it had fallen over during shipping due to the damage to the crate. It was left out in the middle of our road without any scheduling or notice of delivery. So I now have both saws in my shop and while using a dial indicator with the tip on the opposite side of the 1/2" wood blade from the teeth so I am reading front to back movement here. The first saw is .013 and the second saw is .011 I switched blades between the machines and one machine went up .001 and one went down .001. Since the first saw arrived we were sent new tires , a new upper wheel. a Coplanar tool was made and used and still the blade moves front to back without any noticeable change.
    so I was pretty surprised when the second saw was turned on and it also moves front to back. Measurements were taken with all of the bearings backed off of the blade
    on saw #1 I tried 4 different blades and none of them seemed to make it any better and I feel as if I have the blades properly tensioned and different tension levels were checked while the dial indicator was used and the measurement stayed the same. So what I am trying to figure out is do I have 2 bad saws with possible shipping damage or are these measurements typical front to back movement? I have spoken to every Grizzly tech support person and sent in videos and they all think something is not right. I called yesterday and asked them to go measure their machine runout and report back. Thank you