Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: rotary phase converter

rotary phase converter

So I'm going to move into a place without 3 phase power. Problem is 3 of my machines are 3 phase...

So I'm just wondering how do you size a rotary phase converter? Some said it has to be like 3x the size of the motor you are powering. Thing is I have a band saw, a compressor, both are 5hp, and that means I need a 15hp motor to make a rotary phase converter?

I could just buy a single phase moor for one of the machines, and then use that leftover 3 phase motor as a rotary phase converter... as people are charging an arm and a leg even for used 3 phase motors...
    Typhoon Guitars

RPCs are rated differently depending on manufacturer, so there’s not a clear cut answer to that question across the board, especially when comparing used converters.

I have a Kay Phasemaster RPC that is called a 10HP unit. The largest motor it can start is a 10 HP motor, and if enough amps are incoming, it can power up to 25 (or 30?) HP simultaneously. It just can’t start a single 30HP motor all at once. I only have 60 amps of single phase 240V feeding it though, so I stick to 30 FLA or less of 240V 3 phase.

Other manufacturers, like American Rotary for example rate their converters slightly differently and recommend you upsize some amount according to what your biggest single load will be. The best way to get an answer to your question is to call the different manufacturers tech support and tell them exactly what you’re doing. They will want specs from the motor plates of your 3 phase machines as it’s really all about FLA (full load amps.)

Is the single largest 3 phase motor you have 5 hp? I would consider individual VFDs for your 3 phase machines, especially if the shop move is somewhat temporary (?) You can get good quality 5 HP drives for around $300-400 each and not have to deal with the extra wiring and infrastructure that a RPC entails that can get involved and somewhat expensive.