Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Large container to hold water for short-term exhibition

Large container to hold water for short-term exhibition

I'm an artist who would like to make container to hold water approximately 4x8' x 3" deep. It needs to last for only two weeks, so I'm not looking for a permanent water resistant surface, but I also don't want to risk having it leak during the exhibition.

Ideally i'd use something like a stainless steel photography darkroom sink, but I'm not sure I can find one easily. I'm open to all materials (MDF, plywood, plastic, paint, metal, etc.) but I'd like to be able to find them in town without special ordering. I'd also like to to look clean and not sloppy. And, I only want to spend a few hundred dollars at most.

Ideas that come to mind are:
    • Painting MDF or plywood with oil-based paint or marine finish. I know MDF would fall apart quickly if it got wet. But would a good marine finish or oil-based paint prevent this for at least a few weeks?
    • Painting a woven tarp with marine finish. I know tarps aren't waterproof on their own, but with a coating of marine finish, maybe it would make for a nice thin substrate with good tensile strength? Visually, I like the possibility of this option, though the sides would almost certainly need bracing which raises aesthetic questions.
    • Lining with thin plastic could work, but I'm not sure it would look very good (wrinkly, etc). But it might work. It would also be prone to leaking if someone poked it.
    • Rubber could work, but I'm not sure where I'd find such a large sheet. And it might difficult to make the corners look clean without cutting and gluing them back together (which might defeat the purpose). But maybe a strong glue would work adhere the cut corners?

Thanks!