Thread: Purchase WAY above my skill level

Purchase WAY above my skill level

A non-profit I'm involved with has accessed my "expertise" in woodworking to set up their shop, and they've been on a buying spree getting increasingly better machinery to serve their needs.
    My Rigid hybrid table saw was their latest acquisition, so they could have a dedicated dado (actually rebate) unit because every build they do has a rebate for a base.
    I still need a table saw, so I started looking at options - using my band saw exclusively is not my best plan.
    My wife finally completed the decision-making process that the SawStop was my best option.
    I had my 3 HP (I have 240 in the shop since the Rigid was wired up for 240) saw delivered on Friday and I completed the build on Sunday (yesterday).
    I think i'll probably going to be the sole owner who will NOT post a unpack/setup/review of the saw on YouTube. But I will be using it for the first time today.
    As a woodworker, I feel I'm on the "rub-2-sticks-together" level, so this monster is WAY above my level. Mind you I married above my level too, so it's not an unusual case in my life.
    With what I have been asked to do for the house, I'm sure the wife's approval will be rewarded.
    Young enough to remember doing it;
    Old enough to wish I could do it again.

Blog Entries
    Quote Originally Posted by Aaron Rosenthal View Post
    A non-profit I'm involved with has accessed my "expertise" in woodworking to set up their shop, and they've been on a buying spree getting increasingly better machinery to serve their needs.
    My Rigid hybrid table saw was their latest acquisition, so they could have a dedicated dado (actually rebate) unit because every build they do has a rebate for a base.
    I still need a table saw, so I started looking at options - using my band saw exclusively is not my best plan.
    My wife finally completed the decision-making process that the SawStop was my best option.