Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need a new TV

Need a new TV

Came home from work and my TV took a dump. 11 years old so not even going to try a repair.
    Old TV is an LG Plasma 50 or 52" not sure.
    Before I over think things and research for a year and a half (Yep going on now with a compact tractor purchase)
    Help a woodworker out and just tell me what I want to get. I tend to go middle of the road when buying things.
    "Remember back in the day, when things were made by hand, and people took pride in their work?"
    - Rick Dale

We've been really happy with Samsung TV's. They are all smart TV's (app-based). We also use a Roku stick. I'm a neanderthal about anything tech but have no problems operating them. Not sure if you are a Costco member but we have bought all ours there. Mostly around $400, never seen the need for 4K or anything like that. Hope this helps.

Erik
    Ex-SCM and Felder rep

I have one Samsung and two LGs; one of the latter was left in this house by the previous owner. The Samsung is a 50" class and has an excellent picture. It used to be in our master bedroom but is now over the fireplace in our family/bird room where it's also visible from the kitchen. The new LG is a 55" class and is in our new master bedroom it also has an excellent picture and is a more modern smart TV. It was only about $400 from Costco, too. We are streaming only here and I feed the TVs with AppleTV devices which I also brought from the old property. We technically don't need that for the new LG, but for consistency of interface, that's what I use.

I will also note that I use small soundbars with a wireless sub for room filling sound from the TVs in the bedroom and family room.
    --

The most expensive tool is the one you buy "cheaply" and often...

Quote Originally Posted by Dave Lehnert View Post
    Came home from work and my TV took a dump. 11 years old so not even going to try a repair.
    Old TV is an LG Plasma 50 or 52" not sure.