Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Computer for CNC

Computer for CNC

So I've taken the plunge and ordered myself a gantry CNC.

I went through the decisions of buying my second machine first, but as a hobbyist, when that second machine got into the $14K range, I backed down and decided to go with a more entry level setup.

I probably will not receive this for two or three months, but wanted to get a jump on the design software, in this case vCarve Pro.

Working, I was a software developer and did the last 20 years, go that time, on Windows based computers. For the last 10 (retired) years, I've been using a MacBook Pro laptop, so I'm totally out of touch with Windows and computers running Windows.

So I'm leaning towards a laptop, have no brand preference, well maybe Dell. I have a 24" monitor and a bluetooth mouse, so will most likely be using this more as a desktop on the kitchen table.

The CNC setup, OneFinity, does not need to be plugged into a computer or need WiFI to run, so this laptop, or whatever, will not be needed for this operation.

Thanks

Im in your boat too. Im waiting on a credit for my original order so I can reorder the larger x50 journeyman.

As far as Vcarve. You can run it on a Mac if you install Parallels. It wasnt very expensive somewhere under 100. You may one day need to purchase windows for it also(So far just a gentle request.)

I am going to try their wall mount and have a 2.2kw spindle setup wired up all ready to go for when I get mine

Which spindle setup did you go with. I'm holding off buying the recommended router until the CNC gets here, but would rather go with a spindle setup from the start.