Thread: Turning on a drill press

Turning on a drill press

I've never used a lathe before, but would like to make some handles for files and chisels. Is this something that can be done on a drill press? I have a nice Nova Viking drill press, and worry that I'd somehow get it out of balance by doing this. If it's possible on the drill press, can I just use my bench chisels and carving gouges?

Probably not in the same way that it's done on a lathe. I used a drill press to make a tool handle before I had a lathe (in fact, it was the original reason I bought a lathe) -- I put the wood on a mandrel and the mandrel in the drill press, then used abrasives to remove the wood.

I would be much more inclined to do it by hand. A spokeshave is a good tool to use, though you can also use chisels/gouges if you don't have one. Make the stock octagonal on the table or band saw, then work it down from there. Actually, octagonal is a pretty pleasing shape for handles IMHO, and they don't roll.

Best,

Dave
    Last edited by Dave Mount; 06-02-2021 at 6:21 PM. Reason: typo

Quote Originally Posted by Dave Mills View Post
    I've never used a lathe before, but would like to make some handles for files and chisels. Is this something that can be done on a drill press? I have a nice Nova Viking drill press, and worry that I'd somehow get it out of balance by doing this. If it's possible on the drill press, can I just use my bench chisels and carving gouges?
    You can turn wood on anything that rotates and will hold the wood. For something like a handle that has a hole I have (on a lathe) I have forced the wood onto the bit and used it to hold the work.