Thread: ATB vs FTG on 24tooth Rip Blade - Difference in Cut Quality?

ATB vs FTG on 24tooth Rip Blade - Difference in Cut Quality?

I am looking for a dedicated premium rip blade for my 3hp Sawstop as I have a bunch of projects comping up utilizing 8/4 hardwoods and found something interesting on my search. I always thought 24tooth dedicated rip blades had a flat top grind such as what Ridge Carbide, CMT, FSTool or Freud sells, however, I noticed companies such as Forrest and Tenryu sell their 24 tooth blades as rip but have ATB configuration.

Why aren't all rip blades flat top grind? Which configuration will give me a cleaner rip cut? Is there a difference? I am not a production shop nor do I use a power feeder.

I use a Forrest WWII 24T rip blade 3/32 Kerf on my 3HP SawStop.

Very pleased, it's sometimes hard to tell the jointed edge from the newly ripped edge.

We used the ATB mainly for laminate. For a 10 inch rip blade I like 18 tooth, definitely faster than 20 tooth.

I think atb gives a slightly cleaner cut. But it doesn't leave a flat bottom when used, say, to groove a stile for a panel.

The ATB SHOULD give you a cleaner cut. The FTG is a single flat chip and it basically hacks out the wood, where the slight bevel slices a bit. All other things being equal, you should get a cleaner cut with any multi chip blade. My favorite Glue Line rip is a multi chip blade. The bulk ripper has a way rougher surface. I think the bulk ripper cuts way faster. It depends on what you want to do. you bulk rip with the intent of sending the wood to your jointer/planer, FTG and the speed can be a benefit. If you want to not spend time prepping your wood to be glued, the Glue Line rip really does have a glue ready surface. I love mine.