Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Decent small combo machine vs. separate machines for small shop

Decent small combo machine vs. separate machines for small shop

I'm finally building out my shop, which due to some unavoidable constraints means it'll be around 300 square feet instead of 450. Right now I have a 52" Sawstop, a Dewalt 735 planer, a small 6" Grizzly floor jointer, and a benchtop router table (plus lathe, bandsaw, etc but that's not what I'm asking about).

Fitting all of these tools into a 300 square foot shop is going to be tight. I've been looking around and I see something like the Minimax C 26G (https://shopscm.us/collections/featu...ax-c-26g-tersa) which would combine four of my machines into one and *looks* like it'd save me a lot of space.

I've never used a slider before but it looks like something I'd enjoy using. Has anyone made the jump to one of those units for a small shop, and if so, did you regret it? I know I can stash things underneath the saw, put the router table into the table saw, etc, which is what I'd do, but the idea of a combo machine looks pretty nice. I'd love to hear thoughts on it.

Hi Bert, I own a Hammer A3-31 jointer/planer and a Hammer B3 saw/shaper.

I also have a small shop.

My issue with the 4 or 5 function machines is that they work best in a square shaped shop, whereas dual function machines like mine fit better in rectangular shops.

You will really appreciate the space savings, and larger jointer on a J/P, and will really like having a sliding table shaper and saw.........Regards, Rod.