Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Moving a 1600lbs machine?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Moving a 1600lbs machine?

So, I am trying to wrap up my machine purchases and the Hammer c3-41 is quite high on the list, but getting it to my home is turning out to be quite the hassle.

Hammer can't deliver it to my home if I don't have a forklift, and if I pick it up with a trailer, I'm at a loss for how to move it from the trailer and into my shop.

I don't have any specialized tools for lifting and I've never done a move like this before, so I'd rather ask and get advice than reinvent the wheel here.

Thoughts, tips, tricks?

We will need more details. If you are in a garage you can hire someone with a rollback truck to pick it up from the depot (or wherever they deliver it) and put it right into your shop, but if you're in a basement and need to move it down stairs that's a whole other level of dread and existential angst. When we had a new boiler delivered that weighed about that much the delivery truck had a liftgate and they set the boiler on the woodshed floor (concrete slab) with a pallet jack. Then I jacked it up and used steel pipe rollers and a pinch bar to roll it into the adjacent boiler room and into position.

You might look into hiring tilt back wrecker. Obviously I type too slowly
    Steve Jenkins, McKinney, TX. 469 742-9694
    Always use the word "impossible" with extreme caution

As has already been stated supply with all the details you can. What obstacles might hinder things, terrain, where it's going, property access and anything else that could possibly factor in.

Hire someone with a forklift to unload it. (The easy way.)
    Get it delivered in a truck with a lift gate. ( stressful and harder work. more chance for trouble) Some liftgates are in bad shape.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Hennebury View Post
    Hire someone with a forklift to unload it. (The easy way.)