Thread: Spray Finish Help - Please help me understand

Spray Finish Help - Please help me understand

I'm working on the Spool Cabinet and intend to prefinish the individual pieces prior to assembly. Since I'm new to spray finishing, I'm very confused as to method. Hubby owns the HVLP guns etc as he sprays motorcycle components regularly, so actual application isn't a problem.

1) Many of the pieces will require finish on all 8 sides. How do I do that? Do they have to be hung or can they lay flat some how and do one side and then another?

2) How many light spray coats are needed to equal 2 brushed coats in thickness?

Thanks for all your help.

PS I expect to be using General Finishes High Performance Top Coat.

To your first question, there are many ways to spray all sides. Hanging is sometimes the answer, but can also be hard to control when the spray action moves the workpiece...you don't want that in any way, shape or form because it will cause you to get uneven results. Spraying flat can help with that. I will try to spray the "less important" side first, including the edges and once that's dried enough, I"ll flip the piece over to do the top. The reason I do the edges in the first step is to avoid as much as possible any "bounce" onto a finished surface from whatever is supporting the workpiece.

If you're brushing on two coats first, the only benefit that spraying will bring is a little more build and, perhaps, a more refined surface. Why not spray all your coats? The finish you've chosen is ideal for spraying.

BTW, given you are new to spraying you need to "Burn" some finish practicing the steady technique as well as to insure you have your gun setup properly for the finish you are using. GFHP isn't anything like what your husband likely sprays on those motorcycle components when it comes to viscosity and other factors, so you need to prepare for that. You may even need a different needle/nozzle setup for your finish compared to what he uses.