Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: trace out a bell and arch using logic trace 2018 for a vinyl cut

  1. #1

    trace out a bell and arch using logic trace 2018 for a vinyl cut

    using logic trace 2018 and selecting lines and arcs to trace out a bell_arch graphic
    then cut it out on a vinyl cutter

    https://youtu.be/3WnmEqBmz-4 trace out a bell and arch
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    887
    Nice work!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hayes, Virginia
    Posts
    13,960
    Thanks for the training video Stan. I have my first trace ready to cut with one exception, can't get the contour outline to work. I know its something simple but I have not had the time lately to work on the problem.

  4. #4
    not sure about a contour line can you post a picture

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hayes, Virginia
    Posts
    13,960
    Not without violating a copyright. Aspire has a contour line option that is normally easy to use, in my case I am sure that the problem is based on a crossed vector. i think that if there is a crossed vector anywhere in a drawing the software fails to use the contour option. They also seem to cause problems with tabs.

  6. #6
    aspire has a vector check , it should show up there

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    887
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith Outten View Post
    Not without violating a copyright. Aspire has a contour line option that is normally easy to use, in my case I am sure that the problem is based on a crossed vector. i think that if there is a crossed vector anywhere in a drawing the software fails to use the contour option. They also seem to cause problems with tabs.

    Just out of curiosity, which program were you referring to where is would be a violation of copyright to show a screen shot of the program? I have often seen screen shots used as a way to show or explain something about the program. Perhaps I am misunderstanding your point. Thanks,
    David

  8. #8
    I feel the same way ,not sure what keith means, I show parts of aspire all the time

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Tucson, Arizona
    Posts
    887
    Glad I'm not the only one. I thought maybe he was talking about John's new program for tracing on screen with mouse, but even then all of that can be seen in the tutorials.
    David

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Hayes, Virginia
    Posts
    13,960
    Sorry guys my comment was about the drawing itself not the program. I am working on converting in the neighborhood of 59 Garden Gnomes I purchased from paper drawings to digital files. These are intarsia projects that I want to cut on my CNC Router so I am using my Logic Trace graphics tablet to trace each of the Gnomes. I had an idea that I could machine the lines with a sharp router bit and then come back with a round-over bit rather than to cut each piece and have to mount them on a backing board as you would with normal intarsia projects.

    Trying to trace each part individually didn't work very well for two reasons, first it was difficult to prevent lines of adjacent parts from overlapping and second it makes it to time consuming to paint. I am still using the graphics tablet but I am tracing and saving each piece individually, basically I am returning to the standard intarsia technique.

    The Rip Van Winkle Gnome is about 24" tall.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Keith Outten; 04-03-2021 at 9:24 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •