Thread: Outer dado blade for splines

Outer dado blade for splines

Hello everyone, thank you for allowing me into the forum.

I am pretty new to woodworking and want to make picture frames with splines in them. I purchased a ripping blade with flat top blades but am wondering if the money is better invested in a dado stack. I would think that since flat bottoms are important for dado's that the blades would have flat tops. I would like to just use one of the outer blades for my splines.

Is this possible?

Usually the outer dado blade is ground with all the teeth ground at an angle towards the outside. If you use it for a spline groove, there will be a small angle that the spline will not fill. It's up to you if that is acceptable.

For splines I would rather use the rip blade to get the flattest bottom for a picture frame. My Freud dado set has angled part on the outside teeth as Richard stated. Welcome to the Creek!

Flat top ripping blade is the way to go. I have a full-kerf ripping blade that cuts a flat bottom groove all day long. 1/8" kerf.

Thanks everyone. I bought the Freud 10" x 24T heavy duty ripping blade. Can't wait to test it out tomorrow after hearing your advice!