Thread: Darning Mushroom?

Darning Mushroom?

Anyone have a link to a plans/template for a "Darning Mushroom"?
    I'm a newbie.

Also, what kind of wood blank to start off with for this? (Species/etc.)

PS. I don't have a chuck yet. Is that going to be a problem?
    Last edited by Erich Weidner; 01-31-2021 at 2:54 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Erich Weidner View Post
    Anyone have a link to a plans/template for a "Darning Mushroom"?
    I'm a newbie.
    Also, what kind of wood blank to start off with for this? (Species/etc.)
    PS. I don't have a chuck yet. Is that going to be a problem?
    Google gave me lots of pictures and some web sites with good ideas, including this with storage space in the handle:
    https://twigandhorn.com/products/darning-mushroom
    (If you "borrow" their design you might not want to sell them!)

You could turn the entire thing in spindle orientation between centers with tailstock support (a design without the removable top and hollow handle) then saw off and finish the ends by hand. I turn a lot of spindles that way but usually hold one end in a chuck.
    For a removable top you could use a face plate to hold and turn the bottom of the top, drill a hole, then reverse and use double-sided tape to hold it and turn the top. Or make a jam chuck to hold it when reversing.

A scroll chuck will make things easier, of course! (But I suspect you know that.)

JKJ

Erich -- I've never seen nor heard of a darning mushroom. My grandmother, the only one I've ever known to darn anything (other than those who frequently darn lots of things, verbally) used a darning egg. Which looked a lot like, well, a wooden egg. She found the egg shape handy because it was fairly easy for her to find a part of the egg that closely matched the curvature of what she was mending.