Thread: Space age ceramic guides

Space age ceramic guides

Good morning!

I’m considering replacing the euro guides on my agazzani bandsaw. Has anyone here used the space age ceramic guides? Thoughts and/or experiences?

Thanks! Jeff

I swapped the guides on my Rikon 10-325 to the ceramics. They're much easier to adjust in my opinion.

i changed over from the euro guides on the mm16 to laguna ceramics - made a big difference - easier setting, deeper guiding (that doesn't sound quite right but hope you understand what i mean), and better/tighter tolerances.
    jerry
    jerry

I've been using Laguna Ceramics on my two bandsaws for many years. Very happy

Do you guys think it’s the laguna guides themselves that account for the improvement or the ceramic itself?

My motivation is that I need to replace a thrust bearing and I thought of trying the ceramic in the euro guides on my saw. But I don’t love the euro guides, they work but one of them doesn’t stay where you set it and another is super hard to turn by hand. That made me think of just replacing the guides.

Am I missing any other ceramic guide besides Laguna and Space Age Ceramics?

I like the ceramic, I would not say the Laguna guides are amazing to adjust. I'd look at Carter guide if changing.

i put the laguna guides on my MM16, i like them more than the bearings, but, the back ceramic pad definitely grooves with use, and does require periodic rotation. generally speaking, they are ok - better than the bearings.

Joe, which Carter guides do you recommend?
    And David, how long have you been running the Lagunas?

If you search ceramic guides on YouTube there a number of useful videos
    One of the better ones is

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0goh...l=Half-InchShy

When changing the width of the blade mounted on the bandsaw it is essential you check that the ceramic blocks are set so they are behind the depth of the gullets