Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Another which lathe question

Another which lathe question

Rikon 70-3040 or Grizzly G0766

I have a small workshop with space at a premium. I'm a hobbyist addicted to turning. I'm replacing a Nova 2024, and I want something with at least a 20" swing. Price is an issue, also. I've narrowed it down to these two lathes.

The Grizzly seems well made with a 22" swing at about $2500.

The Rikon looks like a beast with a 24" to 31" swing. It is also a space saver when it's not extended. About 60" long (Grizzly is about 81"). It would probably be very rare that I would need that huge swing, but maybe I would use it if I had it? Rikon has a 5 year warranty, Grizzly is one year (3 years if I get the Shop Fox version). The Rikon is about $3600.

My heart is saying Rikon my head is saying Grizzly. Any advice appreciated.

David

David - I have had two of many tools - band saw, drill press, table saw - because I went low price option. Eventually not satisfied with limitations/quality of low price purchases. I upgraded all to better equipment. So, when it came for lathe purchase I went all in on a Oneway 2436. No second purchase required. My advice is simple. Save your money until you can purchase a lifetime quality tool. - John
    Last edited by John King; 01-24-2021 at 2:51 PM.

I have had my Grizzly G0766 for about 3 years and am very satisfied with it. I had to replace the pot once and i just recently put a new belt on it. Other then that it has handled everything i have thrown at it including a couple of back breakers that maxed out the swing. That being said if that rikon was out when i made my purchase i might have went that route.