Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Radial arm saw placement

Radial arm saw placement

I have a question for you guys with radial arm saws. I have a large vintage Delta MX2 series saw (12" or 14" blade) that I want to set up along the long wall of my shop. I will be using this primarily for cutoff/crosscut work and it will always be set at 90°. For those of you who use a RAS in your own shop, how much space do you have to the left and right of the blade, and have you done anything to optimize this space? For example, I don't really want to leave 12' of open bench to the left of the blade if I could place a couple of deadmen roller stands instead and use the space for mobile machines when I'm not using the RAS. I guess I'm looking for ideas. I have been using a 10" SCMS on a folding portable stand for 20+ years now, haven't used a RAS since high school 30+ years ago and I want to utilize this machine instead. The videos of people who have RAS or SCMS in their shop always seem to show 10-12' to the left of the blade and 4-6' to the right and it seems like such a huge waste of space.
    Jon Endres
    Killing Trees Since 1983

I have 8’ table to the left and 6’ skinney table to the right. Both tables are a couple feet off the wall and I use that space for vertical lumber storage
    Steve Jenkins, McKinney, TX. 469 742-9694
    Always use the word "impossible" with extreme caution

My setup is quite similar to the New Yankee Workshop. Saw set up to the side of my mitre station (10ft long) and uses that as support, and shares the fence. Works great. I have on-wall storage of stuff above the mitre station and RAS so no loss of space.