Thread: TS Recommendation-Grizzly G0869 VS Ridgid R4514

TS Recommendation-Grizzly G0869 VS Ridgid R4514

I am in the market for a new Table Saw. I was an avid woodworker about 10 years ago, and I am slowly getting back into it. I am limited on space, thus the reason I am looking at a portable style TS. I plan to build a custom cart to mount the saw to, that will also hold a router table built in.

My old saw was a Ridgid TS3612 and it worked good.

I would appreciate feedback on these two saws, or if there is a different model sub $500 that I should consider, that would be great too.

I mainly build small cabinet projects, outdoor projects, cutting boards, and will be starting to do CNC engraving making signs, etc.

TIA!

Pete

Can't see what the fence looks like on the Ridgid and the one on the Griz looks kind of cheesy. If you can swing $600, the Dewalt DWE7491RS is worth a look. Comes with a crappy blade so you need to add in the $ for new thin kerf. I tried a good 1/8" Woodworker blade but the saw doesn't have the oomph. It would be nice if you cold actually see the saws before buying, but that's not an option where I live. Even when they have them in the store (HD) they aren't setup.

these small portable saws are not really accurate, most have direct-drive blades which will translate into any motor vibrations being transferred to the blade. You will also end up with some frustration with the fence on them as your cuts are not going to be very accurate.

Going from the contractor model you had, your really going backwards and will potentially end up on the upgrade train very soon, esp if you are building small cabinets and cutting boards. While Delta has not been at the top of the quality tools as of late, Lowes has a contractor saw for $599 (Model #36-725T2). It should provide you with better service than a portable that is great for their purpose.

Blog Entries