Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MDO as a workbench top? What glue?

MDO as a workbench top? What glue?

I'm building a reloading bench and I thought MDO might make a good work surface without needing extra steps to paint or poly for protection. Time will tell how rugged it is--but reloading shouldn't subject it to much abuse.
    Choosing it has created an unexpected issue for me, though. My bench top is 2 layers of 3/4 ply and to bond the MDO top sheet to the regular ply bottom sheet I realized I can't use regular yellow glue. To get a good intimate bond I also can't use construction adhesive or a thick glue.
    I think that only leaves me with epoxy.
    Is there something else that might be a better choice to bond with MDO? It's my first time using it.

My ww bench is 4 layers of MDO with solid oak edging. I used polyurethane glue for the MDO sandwich and it worked well. Also has the advantage of longer working time. I spread the glue on one surface with a roller, and spritzed the other surface with a spray bottle. I did two groups of two and then glued those together but I think I could have done all four in one step. I used lots of clamps and cauls to keep the surface flat.

After a few days, I took an offcut (I made the benchtop oversize and trimmed it after gluing) and tried to separate it at a glueline with a chisel. The wood failed in spots, the overlay to wood bond failed in spots, but as far as I could tell, the overlay to overlay bond didn't fail anywhere.

The top has held up well so far, although it doesn't see really heavy action in my shop.
    --I had my patience tested. I'm negative--

Why not put a few screws in to hold the top down?
    Confidence: The feeling you experience before you fully understand the situation

Actually, you can use yellow glue with MDO. Just rough up the surface a little with 100 grit and it glues fine.

John