Thread: carving tools

carving tools

Does anyone have recommendations for good carving tools such as gouges that are semi affordable I’ve heard that flexcut is good but the reviews are mixed

Quote Originally Posted by Jacob s white View Post
    Does anyone have recommendations for good carving tools such as gouges that are semi affordable I’ve heard that flexcut is good but the reviews are mixed
    I'm far from an expert, but I muddle through the bits of carving I need to get done. I have a motley collection of what was on sale, less training & skill, and even less talent. However, I've been reading reviews, checking reviews, and watching sales for a long time.

What you want exactly depends on the type, size, and style of carving you are interested in.

FlexCut gouges seem to be love or hate. The biggest complaint I see is they're too flexible. The biggest recommendation is they are sharp and cheap, (well less expensive.) Woodcraft has a 25% off sale this month, but that doesn't mean you won't do better at Amazon or other retailer. I think their carving knives are more widely appreciated.

In the US, Pfeil seem to be the gold standard for new tools, but Pfeil is not cheap and Woodcraft seems to have an exclusive retail deal. But WC typically has a winter sale which *MAY* be coming up. These or vintage seem to be what the most experienced carvers end up with.

Schaaf is a newcomer. They import tool sets from China, but seem to mind the quality pretty well. They get good reviews, seem responsive when a bad one slips through, and have well curated sets. Downside is their limited selection and that they sell only sets. They may be the best way, and certainly not a bad way, to start with gouges right now for cheap though.

Recently I've seen a couple good reviews for BeaverCraft, especially carving knives, but also gouges, on Amazon from Ukraine.