Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What Program Do You Use to Create 3D Files?

What Program Do You Use to Create 3D Files?

Okay. A little background before getting into the meat of things. My nephew is wanting me to do a 3D carving on a new bar top he's making. A deer scene basically. So he supplied me some ideas(photos) and I've done some searching as well. I thought I would be able to create a program/toolpaths from there. I'm getting educated fast. I have a Camaster Stinger III X3 running Vectric VCarve Pro 8.5. I wasn't able to transfer the VCarve Pro to my name because I didn't purchase the CNC from the first owner. After my research only Aspire appears to be capable of doing this. At $1995 that's a nonstarter. I am doing most things for fun and pleasure giving gifts etc. I'm not going to put $2000 into a program that would likely not return anything to me or at least not enough to make me seriously consider it. Even if I moved up to the latest VCarve (10?) from what I can tell it doesn't do 3D. Am I missing something here? Am I putting to much stock into 3D? I'm unclear when it says VCarve Pro does 2.5D. Is that sufficient for what I am attempting to do? I just wanted this to be cut with some detail but of course it's only on one side of the top. So I may be way off base here. Is this something Sketchup would be capable of doing? I know there are a truckload of questions here. Thanks in advance.

I use Vectric's Aspire, which was a simple upgrade from the VCarve Pro that came with my Stinger II....just the difference in cost. It meets my personal needs. VCarve Pro can use 3D graphics (single model from third parties and multiple models if created by Vectric software), but you cannot create 3D models with the VCarve Pro.