Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Forum, Looking to make some exterior glass doors.

New to Forum, Looking to make some exterior glass doors.

Hello all,
    I'm a GC by trade, and I've been getting into wood working for sometime. I have recently picked up a nice Delta Unisaw and a Delta 8in Jointer.

I'm very interested in wood working and I'm highly motivated, as I bought a Mid-Century modern home in an area of the US custom work doesn't particular exist in anymore.
    One of my first projects will be doors, interior and exterior. Right now I'm looking for information on building fullview glass doors, using 4 3/4" styles and rails. These will have to be paint grade, unless using QS WO on the interior and Ipe or Cumaru on the exterior is possible. Searching forums etc, haven't found a way to make that possible. So Paint Grade it is. Does anyone have any recommendations on wood strong enough with such thin S/R's, I'm thinking Hard Maple as I don't want any grain showing through. I'm also considering what type of joinery to use, and so far loose tenon or dowels is what I've come up with. Any helpful information or links to similar projects would be greatly appreciated. Also, time isn't really a concern, I enjoy the projects and I'm in no hurry.

The doors I'm trying to replicate look as such.

First off, welcome to SMC. You'll find a wealth of information from helpful folks here.

I'm not a door builder, per say, but I have made several exterior and interior doors. With regards to your planned door, I recommend you start by sourcing a stock insulated glass unit and adjust the stile/rail dimensions to fit. Also, I'm not sure that bottom rail is wide enough; I've never made one less than 8" wide, but I'm sure someone with more experience will address that.