Thread: Wax Polish Dried White and Cloudy

Wax Polish Dried White and Cloudy

Hi All - This is my first time posting after a long time reading and learning. I'm totally at a loss w/ what happened to my box. I sanded to 220, then 2 coats of Waterlox Tung Oil then 2 coats of General Finishes Semi-Gloss. It was perfect at this point and I was excited to buff a final coat of wax to finish it off and present to my wife as a gift. However, after letting it sit for the recommended 20 minutes I went to rub it off and it was all cloudy and white and wouldn't come off at all. The wood is truly beautiful and I've worked hard so I'm determined to salvage this project. Can anyone help me? I'd love to know what caused this and how I can fix it. Thank you!
    Box Wax 2.jpgBox Wax 1.jpgBox Wax 3.jpg

I guess my first questions would be how long did you leave the Waterlox and the GF finish to dry and what kind of wax. Look, don’t panic. It might be the Waterlox and/or GF finish just didn’t have enough time to cure. It might be you waited too long to wipe off the wax.

I would suggest more wiping moving to a clean side of the cloth often. If that doesn’t help, then you might want to try to remove the wax with some Naptha...I don’t know, but don’t think that will harm the top coats.

I usually let GF finishes cure for about a month before any wax. That might be overkill, but if you can still smell it, it isn’t yet cured. The curing “vapor” may be causing the milky appearance in the wax.