Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Kiln Drying Cypress Planks for Near-Term Use

Question Kiln Drying Cypress Planks for Near-Term Use

Hi Sawmill Forum,

I am a wood novice trying to work out how to properly dry 60 cypress planks that are being supplied as fresh-green lumber. I need the fastest, yet safest, solution as my job is somewhat time sensitive and our workers are ready to make use of the lumber now.

The lumber is for a 108-passenger wood ship from the early 1970's. The hull between the water line and the main deck uses 8 quarter cypress planks that average 16ft long and 5-6 inches high (which I believe sawmills refer to as the width). Sixty of these planks are on their way to us in Southern California.

The sawmill cutting the lumber is not drying it, so I have to find a kiln. Based on my limited research, drying wood (and doing it properly) is a science so I could use some help to make sure I am asking the right questions and finding a capable service to get it done right. This forum is terrific as I've been able to educate myself on some of these questions which are below in bold for those who want to get right to it.

We removed the bad planks already and covered the cavities with plastic, so there is some urgency to get the new boards in place before our rainy season but I do not wish to rush the drying process and end up with warped or cracked planks. Our entire hull is double planked with cypress. It was quite a challenge sourcing it!

I understand the concept of drying is to remove most of the water quickly without destroying the wood. People say to dry them slow but, if a kiln and correct procedures are used, how long should I estimate for this process in our project schedule? And, can it be done in under two weeks or is that unrealistic?

They say to seal the boards to control the drying but what sealer should be used and where is it to be used?