Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: General 650 purchase decision

General 650 purchase decision

Hi, ! I’m a beginner woodworker getting a shop setup... I’ve come across a General 650 3HP that seems to be very well taken care of and comes with several blades, dado sets, and a sled, outfeed table and mobile base. I’ve got them down to $1250 and seems like that’s going to be the number if I want it. Seems like this saw is very highly regarded, but not a lot of info out there on it and mixed info as to availability of parts... that being said, it also doesn’t seem like anything would break on this thing that cant be replaced with aftermarket, ie: fence, motor, bearings... I’ve been struggling with whether I want to take up the room in my garage or not, but at the end of the day, I dont think that I want to settle for a portable bench top saw, so why not go big? Also, I’d probably cut down the rails to save room if it came down to it. Question is.... at $1250, should I do it, or wait for something else to come along, or is there something in that price range that I should consider instead? Thanks for the help!

A3D87D71-39B7-4AA5-8613-A5B866435E4F.jpg

That saw with the extras seems like a good deal to me. You will love it.

I have a PM66 but at the time I bought it General was on the list.

Is that US or Canada dollars? Seems high for USA. Location. A used Unisaw 400-600 US here.
    Bil lD

That is no Unisaw. General (Canada) saws are the best cabinet saw ever made. I know that comment will excite some guys around here but they are that good. Buy that thing now . I see them in the 1500-2500 range Canadian about 5-8 times a year. There is a fair bit more cast iron in the trunnion system on these saws compared to a Uni and they run smoother. Have a Baldor motor stock. The 650 is also the left tilt version.

Thanks for the responses! This is exactly the feedback I needed to pull the trigger.. hopefully its still available!