Thread: Simple low-cost wood shops

Simple low-cost wood shops

I'm fascinated by minimal shops that can produce high quality wood products.
    I worked in a shop right out of high school in 1970. They made a line of kids furniture and a line of butcher block furniture. They also did lots of custom store fixtures. I started there in their first year and they had 4 woodworkers in the shop. They kept growing and made good money. When I left to start my own shop after 3 years they had 8 woodworkers.

In the 3 years I was there they only had:
    2- radial arm saws
    1- Safety speed cut vertical panel saw
    Lots of big routers, belt sanders and porter cable 505 1/2 sheet sanders

They bought butcher block slabs in bulk for the common size furniture. Some was cut to size on the panel saw. 2"x2" hard maple was ordered surfaced in random lengths for table legs.
    The kids furniture was 3/4" hardwood plywood mostly birch. We had tons of router jigs.
    This was at a time when Scandinavian Modern furniture was big.
    We did all our ripping on the radial saw and some on the panel saw. We never had a table saw in that shop!

Anyone have any stories about minimally equipped shops?
    "Whether you think you can, or you think you can’t - you’re right."
    - Henry Ford

I visited a professional turner's shop that was pretty stripped down. 24" long bed lathe, 36" bandsaw, bench grinder, chainsaw. It opened my eyes to what you could do without if focused.

I always wonder about this, I believe that knowledge has lot to do with it where less is more and mass production is not priority. But then again trying to run business and meet all the requirements that just having a business such as insurance,taxes,rent,etc how can they survive now days