Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First lathe: Rikon Midi vs. Laguna Revo 12/16

First lathe: Rikon Midi vs. Laguna Revo 12/16

I'm looking at either the Laguna Revo 12/16 or a Rikon Midi (the 70-220VSR and 70-150VSR) as a first lathe. They're both about the same price in my area. (The only other easily-accessible option is King Canada/King Industrial, which tends to be very low-quality. Can anyone recommend one over the other? I have a small Rikon bandsaw of decent (but not overwhelming quality). I have no experience with Laguna. I have no plans to focus on any particular kind of turning, as I have no experience, but I'd like something that I can use for small bowls, chair spindles, etc. I lean slightly toward the Rikon because of the longer distance between centres (20" vs. 16"), but I'd prefer quality over capacity – I am rarely likely to use the extra few inches.

I don't know anything about Laguna, someone else will be along shortly.

Rikon quality, at least in their smaller lathes, is good. I won't claim they're the best, but I've used several models and they were all usable and as good as other lathes I've used.

Quote Originally Posted by Tyler Bancroft View Post
    ... chair spindles, ... I lean slightly toward the Rikon because of the longer distance between centres (20" vs. 16"), but I'd prefer quality over capacity – I am rarely likely to use the extra few inches.