Thread: Need help truing up a joint in a panel before glue up.

Need help truing up a joint in a panel before glue up.

I don't understand why all the rest of them look good and this one is driving me bananas.

My current panel is 16 length x 17.5 width. Once it is glued up I can trim it to 15x15 inches for the project I have going. It will be a small table top.

***whole panel, pencil is pointing at the bothersome gap.

*** closeup of the gap. It is right at 1/32" at the widest.

Material is 4/4 American Beech, kiln dried, shipped to Alaska, I have been tripping over it on the floor of my home office for about 18 months, and my hardwood purveyor said he had brought it in in either 2014 or 2015. My rough stock is mostly 5-7" width, flat sawn, not much figure. I rotated my stickered stack every month for the first three months it was here, and then every three months since then. They were all a little cupped, but I do have more crook than I want.

The top as pictured is all from one board that was 6" wide this morning. I cross cut to length going 1" long on everything, and then ripped to 2.5" off each edge leaving me rift sawn table top pieces 4/4 x 2.5 x 16 nominal, and some beech wood scraps nominal 1x1x16" and flat/quarter sawn.

I have shaved and trimmed and shaved on this thing, and decided to stop to ask for help. Could it be the problem piece has some more crook stored in it? How long should I let it set to finish crooking before I trim it some more?

Alternatively, I could re-arrange the order of the pices and put the problem child at one end, but then how long should I wait to trim the excess off the table top I will have trapped inside there? I do also have one spare piece the same size from the same board, but it has a through knot close to one end.

I can certainly let this sit for 48 hours while I work on legs and aprons if that is likely to be enough time...
    Attached Images Attached Images