Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Epoxy for M&T joints for Mahogany Screen Door--first time user needs advice

Epoxy for M&T joints for Mahogany Screen Door--first time user needs advice

I appreciate all of the great advice I have been getting on a number of projects.

I am building the first of 3 mahogany screen doors for the house. We like a more modernist look, so the door has 6 "stretchers" between the 2 rails, resulting in 5 smaller screened panels. I have done M&T joiner for everything and had planned on using Titebond 3, but now I am considering using epoxy as the glue for the joints. Aside from the great exterior properties, Some of my joints are a little looser than I would like and there are some gaps at the top of the tenons (i.e. some tenons are narrower than the mortise).

I have never used epoxy before, so I start researching on the internet and now I am confused. Most of the information I am finding is about stabilizing cracks or doing epoxy river tables

Some comments have said not to use epoxy on any structure joints. Seems weird to me, but is that true?

I have been looking at West Systems with the 206A hardner to get a longer open time....are there other recommendations?

I have seen some comments that if I using the epoxy as an adhesive, I need to add a thickening agent to the mix. True/false?

I am in Central Texas, with summer temps generally in excess of 100F, do I need to worry about the epoxy becoming brittle?

Any good reference sites?

Thanks

System Three T-88 Epoxy is what you want. Long open time, excellent results.

51cAUXUZ-OL._SL1000_.jpg

I've used epoxy on wood joinery with great success and I know many very experienced woodworkers who do the same.