Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jump from a 9" to a 12" dovetail saw??

Jump from a 9" to a 12" dovetail saw??

I've been using a 9" Independence Tool DT saw for many years. I'm starting to think about getting something else. I was looking at the Bad Axe site and, according to their site, the 12" "will be the last saw I'll ever own".

That seems like quite a jump. What can I expect?

(I mostly make boxes and some drawers. 1/2" to 3/4" thick and mostly hardwoods. But sometimes I practice on softwoods (poplar).)

Why are you thinking of getting another dovetail saw? A 9" saw for the kind of wood we generally work with (3/4" or so) should be very adequate.

Mike

[If your saw is not working well, perhaps it needs to be sharpened.]
    Go into the world and do well. But more importantly, go into the world and do good.

The independence saw is (I understand, but have not ever used one) a nice saw. It is roughly 9" long (for the blade). I was under the impression that this was a nice saw, but I have never used one.

• I have a 9" Lie Nielsen saw
    • I have a 9.25" Lee Valley saw
    • I have a 10" Bad Axe dovetail saw and I used it for years. Love it. (Doc Holliday)

Are you noticing a pattern? Most dovetails saws seem to be around that size. All of these saws have a roughly 2" depth to the blade.

I am a bit surprised that the "standard" dovetail saw at Bad Axe is now listed as the 12" saw. I ordered a 12" Bad Axe dovetail saw some years back (Wyatt Earp), but the Wyatt Earp has a deeper depth of cut than the 12" Stiletto (which is about 2"). Off hand, I would probably use the Stiletto more than the Wyatt Earp because I have never cut a dovetail deeper than my other saws can cut. I have made other cuts deeper than that, but that is the exception for what I do, not the norm.