Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Adjust Narex Mortise Chisel Bevel Angle using Bench Grinder

Adjust Narex Mortise Chisel Bevel Angle using Bench Grinder

I have a 1/2" Narex mortise chisel which has a primary nevel engle of 35° which I would like to reduce to 20°. I have a brand new grinder with CBN wheel. I am a total newb at using a bench grinder like this. It is equipped with the Tormek tool rest but there are no jigs to fit such a thick chisel (that will hold it square.) After ruining a couple of old and not valuable chisels I am beginning to get the hang of things (note the emphasis on beginning.) Neurological issues require that I use a jig to maintain square and projection.

My questions are:

Where on the existing bevel or shank should I start grinding?
    How do I know how deep to go?
    What jigs are available to help with the task?
    Given the length of the bevel at 20°, can it even be done on a bench grinder?

I will very much appreciate any help and thank you in advance

Why do you want to go to 20° on a mortise chisel?
    should be fine with a bench grinder.
    I would start back up on the bevel so as not to over heat the edge.
    nice jig https://www.leevalley.com/en-us/shop...t?item=05D1302 Should not need it for what you are doing.
    How do you sharpen after the grinder?

All so do not let the chisel get to hot. If you can not touch it you are getting hotter than I like to go. To hot and you can lose the temper.

Some of the "pig sticker" type mortise chisels have a long 20* primary bevel with a shorter, steeper 35* bevel at the actual cutting tip. Just hold it as square as you can Curt, check often with a square and adjust your technique as required. You will develop some muscle memory as you do more of it and probably be holding it pretty square in a short while. The chisel will last through many, many grinding/sharpening cycles and should not suffer any permanent damage due to initial, not-as-skilled grinding sessions.