Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: School me on cabinet paint

School me on cabinet paint

I am looking for help from anybody who has extensive experience with finishing/refinishing kitchen cabinets. I do a lot of cabinet painting (spray of course) and have typically use water-based finishes like acrylic or enamel. I have recently purchased a new HVLP spray rig and want to transition to lacquer or something similar. However, I didn’t realize how many different options there were for coatings in this area. I am familiar with precat lacquer and that is about it. I have been researching Sherwin-Williams and have no clue what some of these other finishes are. Nitrocellulose, conversion varnishes etc. Can someone please throw some knowledge my way.

Also, I figured I should probably throw this part in to clear up any questions. I am a contractor and do this type of thing for a living, among others. I have finished hundreds of kitchens through my previous methods with fantastic results. I also have extensive experience with high end automotive body work and paint, so I am not worried about the prep or spray process whatsoever. I’m just unsure of the differences between all of these finish types. Any help would be greatly welcomed.

If you have finished that many kitchens with fantastic results why would you want to change anything? Is it just to reduce a little material usage by switching to HVLP? From?

In any case, if you do this for a living then you would likely benefit from developing a relationship with one or two suppliers, like maybe ML Campbell, or ChemCraft, but Sherwin Williams has a complete line of products, too. You need to start talking with the sales/tech. reps to get educated on products that will offer a benefit to your work. For the volume of product you likely consume I would think it should be pretty easy to get them to come see you.

John