Thread: Grabbing the attention of the experts.

Wallstrasse 28, Hessen, 35321, Laubach, Germany

Question Grabbing the attention of the experts.

Hey guys

I don't know if this post belongs here, but I have a few questions. If the thread needs to be moved, please do and I apologize about my mistake.

As far as i remember i bought a fixed base router Dewalt dw616 near six months back. but recently I am having problems with circle cutting and jointing so i am thinking of buying a plunge base router which is the same brand (Dewalt: dwp611pk). Let me tell you first that i am a newbie in this sector.

This video talks about the problem of balancing the plunge router
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GSZUZKM45ps

After seeing this video i am getting totally confused
    That's why i grabbing the attention of the experts, What may i do or any personalized suggestion of yours would be highly appreciated.
    Last edited by Keith Outten; 08-23-2020 at 6:03 PM.

George,

What troubles exactly are you having with circle cutting? And when you say 'jointing', what do you mean?

There's a place for a plunge base and a fixed base. It's a good idea to take a dry run if you need to run an edge on something. There's a balance point when holding the router. Keeping that balance is the key to prevent tipping.

Also, you need to not get too greedy on cut depth. Two lighter passes go much smoother. On deep cuts it could mean four passes.

Then there's regular cuts vs climb cuts. I really wouldn't recommend climb cuts until you're comfortable with regular cuts.

Hope this helps. Jeff

Blog Entries