Thread: Question for using green wood for turning and insects

Question for using green wood for turning and insects

Hi,

am new for doing "green" turning. I've picked up some freshly cut logs from a storm and have sealed the ends with a wood sealant. All the logs still have bark on them (and some moss). I've noticed that there's been ants crawling on the logs still.

Does anyone ever treat the logs the collect for wood turning with any insecticide? I am not bringing any of these into our house due to the ants.

Appreciate your expertise on this.

thanks

'mark

Some tree sap is sweet (birch, maple, sweet gum/gum amber, etc.) and it attracts ants. I suspect that once the moisture content of the wood drops enough the ants will lose interest in it. BUT, if you have big black carpenter ants, I'd suggest using an insecticide. I think that boric acid has low toxicity - - but I'm not an expert at that.

A funny situation: I was turning a nice piece of gum amber that had a bunch of insect holes. It appeared dry. I filled the holes and put a finish on it. Then I put it aside and stacked it on top of another piece. I put a piece of paper towel between the two pieces. After a period of time, I looked at the gum amber piece and noticed the paper towel had a hole in it. And the hole matched the new hole in the piece. Oops. In retrospect, I probably should have put the piece in the microwave before finishing it.

Quote Originally Posted by mark ahlenius View Post
    Hi,

am new for doing "green" turning. I've picked up some freshly cut logs from a storm and have sealed the ends with a wood sealant. All the logs still have bark on them (and some moss). I've noticed that there's been ants crawling on the logs still.

Does anyone ever treat the logs the collect for wood turning with any insecticide? I am not bringing any of these into our house due to the ants.

Appreciate your expertise on this.

thanks

'mark