Thread: Woodmaster Reversing Drum sander kit

Woodmaster Reversing Drum sander kit

I have an older Woodmaster drum sander that I would like to add the reversing switch to. I've sent an email to Woodmaster and I'm waiting for a reply. But maybe someone here can help. On my sander the feed and drum motors are powered separately (120v for the feed and 240v for the drum) but the current model says it's a 90v DC motor so it's not the same. I didn't see if the new ones have just one power cord or two like mine. Does anyone have the directions that came with the switch? A DC motor is very easy to switch directions where as only select AC motors are built with that possibility. Given that the motor can run from basically 0 to 20 fps mine could also be a DC motor, I just haven't found the nameplate on it.

It is just a switch which reverses polarity I believe. Do you have a dial for speed control?

MK

Send me your email address via PM and I'll email you a pdf of the manual. It includes info on the feed drive motor.

It does have the dial control for the speed. All the way counter clockwise it'll click and shut off the motor. As you turn it clockwise the speed picks up. I have not taken the speed controller apart to see if there's a bridge rectifier circuit inside it to convert the Ac to DC. Woodmaster's kit is pretty basic, the switch, a few electrical connectors and wire, and some bolts to mount it. If the drive motor is a DC motor on mine then I can easily make my own reversing switch and wire it up.

Mine is also powered by separate AC lines. I got tired of having to plug in both and added a breaker box to the side of the sander so the main 240v connection powers both safely.
    IMG_4137.jpg

Here are a couple pics of my feed motor with the nameplate. I opted for a larger feed motor when I ordered it. I hope it helps. Let me know if you want the manual.
    IMG_4135.jpg
    IMG_4136.jpg