Thread: Epiphany

Epiphany

I've picked up a technique or two on my journey through this vortex that I've been navigating for a couple of years. My work generally improves with practice. I'm 95% self-taught through reading websites (and forums like SMC )and watching a few YT videos. Videos are a rare luxury because of my data limits. I know a couple of other turners, but have little opportunity to network and share.
    I have a pretty good understanding of the basics, or at least I thought I did. I have nice sharp tools thanks to Oneway Wolverine and Ron Brown's sharpening jigs. My Nova 1624 is lightyears ahead of the antique Delta Homecraft that I started with. My selection of aftermarket toolrests helps me get closer to where I'm working. However, I still struggle with vibration, tool chatter, tearout, and freshly sharpened gouges cutting like a freshly sharpened rototiller.
    I finally began systematically reviewing things and discovered that I have been setting the tool rest way too low. I always thought it should be set so that the cutting edge was "at or above the centerline of the workpiece", which I interpreted to mean just barely above the centerline. Yesterday I decided to think outside the box and set the tool rest about an inch higher than usual.
    Several things happened instantly. First, my gouge became 100x sharper than it was a minute ago, the shavings flew off the work in long, luxurious curls, tearout virtually disappeared forever, and the phrase "riding the bevel" suddenly became meaningful. Also the dark clouds parted and the sun shone brighter than usual, the birds sang more sweetly, and the flowers were more fragrant. OK, those last items might not be a direct result of changing the tool rest height, but I'm pretty sure they happened.