Thread: Platter - Which choice would you make?

Platter - Which choice would you make?

Decided to use a rainy Saturday to dive into a stack of slabs I cut about 9 months ago. This is River Birch I rescued from a date with the log splitter. This slab has a strong crotch figure that I want to feature in a platter. I'm a newbie at turning so I started laying out circles to help me get a feel of the final look. There are 2 14" circles and 1 12" circle. You might have to zoom to see the penciled circles.

20200627_150700.jpg

My question to the experienced turners is this: Would you opt for a larger 14" platter with the feature off center or the smaller 12" platter with the feature more centered? I keep waffling back and forth, but I guess I'm leaning a bit to the smaller platter. Although I'm not thinking of selling the piece, I also wonder which choice might be the more desirable for a buyer, which might bring the better price.

Thanks for wisdom!
    Brian

"Any intelligent fool can make things bigger or more complicated...it takes a touch of genius and a lot of courage to move in the opposite direction." - E.F. Schumacher

That is nice looking figure. Since it is going to be off center in either size, and is more than half of the larger platter, I would go for the 14 inch platter. In my thoughts the only reason to consider the 12 inch circle is that it captures a bit more of the figure in the upper right of the photo, and that is very nice figure in that area. My advise would be to determine if you have a use for a 12 inch platter, or would a 14 inch get more use.