Thread: Gravostyle and serial ports

Gravostyle and serial ports

Hi, I have a TrophyMaster and a newly acquired IS400. I've always had the TM on a parallel port with a parallel dongle. I want to try to change from parallel port transfer to serial port so I can run both machines off one computer. I'm getting "Can't open printer..." from GS98.
    • It's a Dell Optiplex that has a 9 pin serial on board,
    • I've installed a PCI Express Parallel card for the parallel port,
    • My parallel printer is "TrophyMaster" on LPT1 using Generic/Text Only,
    • I use the Sentinel drivers to recognize the dongle in the parallel port.

The parallel setup works.

When I try to send a job through serial,

• I unplug the parallel cord,
    • I plug in the NH-provided serial cable,
    • I've tried using COM1 and COM2 and the results don't change,
    • The serial printer I'm trying is "TM on Serial" on either COM port using Generic/Text Only,

Anything I've left out? Anything have to happen at the machine's control joystick? Can you theoretically send a job through serial with a parallel dongle installed but with no parallel cable plugged into the dongle?

EDIT: Or would it be easier to run both engravers through parallel ports if I install a 2nd card?

Charlie
    Last edited by Charles Glenn; 06-24-2020 at 6:25 PM.

before I can help further:

are you using EP modules between the computer and machines? If so, do you have one for each machine, or trying to share one?
    ========================================
    ELEVEN - rotary cutter tool machines
    FOUR - CO2 lasers
    THREE- make that FOUR now - fiber lasers
    ONE - vinyl cutter
    CASmate, Corel, Gravostyle

EP Modules: No, since I only think I know what those are from a quick google.