Thread: Load rating for drawer slides?

Load rating for drawer slides?

Am I correct in assuming that a given load rating for drawers slides is for a pair and not each. In other words, if a drawer slide is rated at 100lbs that means the weight of the drawer and its content should not exceed 100lbs. Correct?

I'm no expert, but that is how I understand draw slide load ratings.

Yes, that's my understanding.

I think so but for the single undermount type I would assume it is per slide.
    Bil lD

It also assumes that you install every screw in every hole, something I do not do.
    Regards,

Tom

Quote Originally Posted by Thomas McCurnin View Post
    It also assumes that you install every screw in every hole, something I do not do.
    Good Point Thomas

But why play so close to their limits? Just bump yourself up a size and get 150lb rated slides or 200lbs rated slides, then you won't have to worry about it.

Sometime take out a loaded kitchen drawer and weigh it. You might be surprised at the weight. Probably much less than 100 lbs
    Steve Jenkins, McKinney, TX. 469 742-9694
    Always use the word "impossible" with extreme caution

Agree, I would estimate my silverware drawer at about 30-40#, and it has a lot of content.
    Rick Potter

DIY journeyman,
    FWW wannabe.
    AKA Village Idiot.

Not all drawers are in a kitchen.
    ~mike

happy in my mud hut

Not true. Every slide comes with numerous holes for a multitude of different mounting options and assembly systems. Many standard slides installed with True32 will have only two screws or often times 3 for convenience of installation. If you installed every screw you'd broke installing a single slide.

This is not true, at least not across the board. The last set of drawer slides I installed were Blum Tandem undermounts, and the instructions explicitly noted the set of screw holes needed to meet the load requirements. I think for the 21" units that I was installing it was only like 4-5 holes per slide.